Kelty Grand Mesa 2 Person 2020 Dome Tent Review

While creating this review of the Grand Mesa 2, we studied the data from two hundred and thirty-eight other two person dome tents, comparing more than sixty different facts. We also looked at prices including shipping & discounts from eleven various retailers stores, to source the best deal for you.

The Grand Mesa 2020 Door Open

Kelty's Grand Mesa 2 2020 With the Door Open
In the review, we will cover for you:
  • An outline of the reviews we read.
  • A thorough examination of the features, materials and dimensions.
  • The Pros and Cons of the tent.
  • The Lowest Price that we Found!

Here at optimumtents.com all our reviews are built from our unique database of over 1,000 tents and shelters, that are found in America. Our goal is to give you an honest report and our own individual rating based on the data, along with the lowest price and best value we could find.

Best Value & Low Price

Amazon Logo
Fast 2 Day Shipping Available to Most Locations
$139.95 info_outline
FREE SHIPPING
** Affiliate disclosure **
  • Kelty Logo
  • Manufacturer: Kelty
  • Model: Grand Mesa 2020
  • Sleeping Capacity: 2 Persons
  • Designed For: 3 Seasons
  • Best Use: Backpacking
  • Type: Dome Tent
  • Available in: Other Sizes
    An Older Version is Still Available
    Grand Mesa 2
  • MSRP: $129.95
  • Kelty Logo Check MSRP   
  • rei.com Logo Not found   
  • MORE SELLERS
    sportsmansguide.com Logo Not found   

    outdoorplay.com Logo Not found   

    evo.com Logo Not found   

    blackovis.com Logo Not found   

    gear.com Logo Not found   

    sportsmans.com Logo Not found   


Grand Mesa 2 Pictures and Videos

Click on an image or video to enlarge them!


The Grand Mesa 2020 With the Fly Off

Kelty Grand Mesa 2 2020 With the Fly Off
Door Closed on the Grand Mesa 2020 2

Door Closed Grand Mesa 2 2020

A video about the Grand Mesa 2 tent.

Another video about Kelty's tents.

QUICK OVERVIEW

Logo Representing the Features Section

Features


  • Freestanding: Yes
  • Color: Orange, Brown
  • Number of Rooms: 1
  • Number of Windows: None
  • Number of Doors: 1
  • Zippers: N/A
  • Storage Pockets & Gear Loft: N/A, N/A
  • Mesh Roof & Walls: Yes, Yes
  • Footprint: Not Included, Available Separately
  • Grand Mesa 2 floor saver
Logo Representing the Materials Section

Materials and Extras


  • Inner Walls: 68D Poly No-see-um Mesh
  • Full Fly: 68D Poly No-see-um Mesh
    Fly Waterproof Ratings: 1800 mm
  • Floor Materials: 68D Poly No-see-um Mesh
    Floor Waterproof Ratings: 1800 mm
  • Pole Material: Aluminum
  • Number Of Poles: 2
  • Pole Dimensions: N/A
  • Guy Lines & Guy Outs: Yes, Yes
  • Stakes: N/A
Logo Representing the Dimensions Section

Dimensions


  • Floor Area: 30 sq. ft.
  • Center Height: 3 foot. 7 inches.
  • Packed Weight: 4 Lbs 12 Oz
    Trail Weight: 4 Lbs. 1 Oz.
  • Packed Size: 12 x 15 x 4 inches.
  • Number of Vestibules: 1
  • Screened Areas: None
  • Awnings: None

Tent Set Up

Kelty Quick Corners for a super fast setup

Green Thumbs Up Logo

Summary: Favorable Reviews

Campers who have camped with the tent mentioned that: It is straightforward to set up and tear down, excellent construction & ease of use. The quick corners make it lightning fast to take down. Used this tent a lot in different kinds of weather and it works great! Excellent ventilation with lots of air flow. The tent kept us very dry. No leaks, and held up in the wind.


Teal Thumbs Down Logo

Summary: Unfavorable Reviews

People who bought the tent said: The floor seems thin so you will definitely want the footprint. The stakes that come with it bend easily.


SIMILAR TENTS WITH LOTS MORE SPACE

Cedar Ridge Granite Falls 2020 2
Cedar Ridge Granite Falls 2
  • 23% More Space
  • 21% Extra Headroom
4.2 Stars Logo (4.5)
$79.99
More Details

$60 Cheaper

Cedar Ridge Rimrock 2020 2
Cedar Ridge Rimrock 2
  • 23% More Space
  • 21% Extra Headroom
4.2 Stars Logo (4.7)
$79.99
More Details

$60 Cheaper

Eureka Tetragon HD 2020 2
Eureka Tetragon HD 2
  • 17% More Space
  • 12% Extra Headroom
4.2 Stars Logo (4.3)
$109.95
More Details

$30 Cheaper

Alps Mountaineering Meramac 2020 2
Alps Mountaineering Meramac 2
  • 27% More Space
  • 12% Extra Headroom
4.2 Stars Logo (4.7)
$110.42
More Details

$30 Cheaper

SPECS AND CONFIGURATIONS

The Grand Mesa 2 2020 has one door and a peak center height of 3' 7, which is a little bit smaller than the average height of the 213 different 2 person tents we have studied. With 30 square feet of room inside, it is considerably smaller than some other 2-person tents, and it would be quite tight for you and, another camper throughout the 3-seasons, this tent is approved for use in, smaller tents similar to this one can generally make an ideal choice for campers that enjoy spending lots of hours outside the tent exploring.

Many of the great points about dome tents are, that they are generally speaking not too heavy, making them simple to carry. In near all cases, tents used for backpacking are of the dome type. They are generally speaking, freestanding and very simple to set up. In good weather, you can do without securing the tent with stakes and ropes, not that this is recommended.

Dome tents are the most common of all the other sorts of tents you will see when camping. They tend to do better in the rain than other types, allowing water to easily slide off the slanted walls, unlike cabin tents that have flat tops, resulting in the rain pooling on the top. The simplest dome tent will have a rectangular floor, sloped walls two or more poles which cross in the middle of the roof. Because of their construction, it is generally considered that they are ideal for up to a maximum of 6 campers.

Below you can browse an account of the tent's pros and cons.

Click or Tap on the Tab you Want to See!

PROS

  1. Freestanding. The Grand Mesa 2020 can support its own weight on any terrain. It does not need to be staked down in most cases. But in case of strong winds, it is always best to secure it to the floor with the included steel stakes and guylines.
  2. Vestibule. Having one vestibule. Affords you somewhere to store shoes and other items that can get dirty, muddy, this is a huge plus.
  3. Internal storage. It is good to see Kelty has added a gear loft and pockets in the interior to store some of your stuff.
  4. Breathable. The Grand Mesa's interior uses a mesh fabric on the inside of the tent, and this helps maximize the flow of air. With the extra ventilation, and this tent is great for use in the warmer months.
  5. The rainfly completely covers the tent body. The rainfly covers the entire body of the tent from the top to the bottom and has a waterproof rating of 1800mm. Meaning it will easily protect you against heavy rain.
  6. Available in other sizes. Kelty has also made this model available in Other Sizes.
  7. Low price. It is a great buy for a 2 person dome tent providing this much space. Not a lot of tents available on the market provide this level of quality for only $129.95

CONS

  1. Not roomy. With a floor area of 30 square feet, the Grand Mesa 2 is smaller than quite a lot of the 224 other 2 person tents we have looked at.
  2. Lacking in Headroom. With 10% less headroom than similar sized tents, one can see how this could be a negative thing for some people.
  3. Footprint not Included. There is no included footprint, there is one sold separately designed for the Grand Mesa 2 footprint Even though the floor may be made of 68D Poly No-see-um Mesh, it is still better to protect it further with a footprint, especially on rough terrain.
  4. Out of Stock. Unfortunately this particular tent is not currently in stock. It is still on the manufactures website the last time we checked.
  5. Sloping walls. Even though Dome tents have heaps of qualities to rave about. The sloping sides do tend to make it all the more smaller inside.

CONCLUSION

4.2 Stars Logo

Our Ratings: 4.2 STARS

Kelty's Grand Mesa 2 2020 tent is suitable for backpacking. Here are a couple of other things not noted above which, we found and liked, while reviewing the model: A reliable backpacking companion for decades, the Grand Mesa 2 is now even grander, Shark Mouth carry bag for easy pack-up and EZ-Zip vestibule with fully taped seams.

With favorable ratings, a few reviews and headroom of 3' and 30 square feet of area to sleep, this tent is like your own miniature studio. This will allow you to spend some really enjoyable time hanging out with nature. We found a decent amount of pros about the tent that you can check out above.

If you came to this website looking for suggestions on this particular tent, our view is, it would make for a great purchase. If you simply happened to arrive on this website while browsing for a new tent having not heard of this manufacurer or this tent model before, it is probably a good thing to check out some other similar tents also.

Value for money: In so much as value for money, this tent is undoubtedly cheaper than the standard price of all the two hundred and thirteen, two-person tents we have taken a look at, all alone this does not make it awesome value for money. We also need to take a look at other areas in-depth, as we do for every tent.

When we calculate the valuation of a tent, we regard tons of data points, searching for areas where the tent could exceed other comparable tents and where it is not quite as good. On this occasion, with a total rating of 4.2 and the price knowledge above, we can spot that with a cost of $129.95 The Grand Mesa 2 2020 is a very good purchase and incredibly competitively priced when compared with similar tents.

The ratings show that the build and space the tent provides were not skimped on to arrive at a price undoubtedly under the average price for comparable tents. It will make an exceptional choice for nearly all campers looking for an appropriate three-season backpacking tent to go camping in, that should serve you well for years to come.

Best Value & Low Price

Amazon Logo
Fast 2 Day Shipping Available to Most Locations
$139.95 info_outline
FREE SHIPPING

COMPARE WITH OTHER SIMILAR TENTS

KELTY TENT MODELS

BACKPACKING TENTS || DOME TENTS

Other Sizes and Variations of the Kelty Grand Mesa Model

Model Headroom Sleeping Area

Kelty Grand Mesa 2020 2
Grand Mesa 2 2020

3' 7"30 sq ft

Kelty Grand Mesa 2020 4
Grand Mesa 4 2020

4' 7"55 sq ft

Kelty Grand Mesa 2020 2
Grand Mesa 2

3' 7"30 sq ft

Kelty Grand Mesa 2020 4
Grand Mesa 4

4' 7"53 sq ft
BACK TO TOP arrow_upward
Data Last Updated: 2020-11-23 Privacy Policy || Contact || About

The owner of this website, optimumtents.com, is a participant in different affiliate advertising programs, including the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking optimumtents.com to Amazon properties including, but not limited to, amazon.com, endless.com, myhabit.com, smallparts.com, or amazonwireless.com. and also rei.com and moosejaw.com Full Disclosure